Tathagat Foundation

Tathagat Foundation

अप्प दीपो भव

Tathagat Foundation

अप्प दीपो भव


Yog Marg

कर्मफलं कार्यं कर्म करोति यः 

स संन्यासी च योगी च न निरग्निर्न चाक्रियः 

Hatha Yog

The Sanskrit term “hatha” can be interpreted in two English ways: either as “willful” or “forceful,” representing the active aspect of yoga, or as “sun” (ha) and “moon” (tha), symbolizing the yoga of balance. Hatha yoga is a traditional and comprehensive system of physical and mental practices originating from ancient India. It focuses on cultivating harmony between the body and mind through the practice of physical postures (asanas), breathing techniques (pranayama), and meditation. The term “hatha” itself refers to the balance between opposing forces, representing the union of the sun and the moon within oneself. The practice of hatha yoga aims to promote physical strength, flexibility, and balance while also fostering inner tranquility and mental clarity. It provides a holistic approach to well-being, encouraging practitioners to achieve a sense of harmony, peace, and self-awareness.

Ashthang Yog

The Ashthang Marg to obtain spiritual well being was prescribed by Maharshi Patanjali and involves the following 8 step process:

Hatha yoga

This is the physical and mental branch that aims to prime the body and mind.

Raja yoga

This branch involves meditation and strict adherence to a series of disciplinary steps known as the eight limbs of yoga

Karma yoga

This is a path of service that aims to create a future free from negativity and selfishness

Bhakti yoga

This aims to establish the path of devotion, a positive way to channel emotions and cultivate acceptance and tolerance

Jnana yoga

This branch of yoga is about wisdom, the path of the scholar, and developing the intellect through study


Nirchen Buddhism

One of the biggest schools of Japanese Buddhism is Nichiren Buddhism, which was founded by the prophet and saint Nichiren in the 13th century. The Lotus Sutra, also known as Saddharmapundarika-sutra (literally, “The Scripture of the Lotus of the Good Law”), is a collection of the Buddha’s core teachings, according to Nichiren.

Among the leading figures of medieval Japanese Buddhism, Nichiren maintained that the Lotus Sutra represents the Buddha’s final, ultimate teaching. He classed all other sutras preached before the Lotus as those accommodated to the audience’s understanding (zuita’i) and revered the Lotus alone as a direct expression of the Buddha’s own intent. (zuiji’i)

Teachings of Buddha

Gautama Buddha, the founder of Buddhism, introduced a variety of profound teachings. Central among these is the Four Noble Truths, which identify suffering as an inherent part of existence and attribute its cause to desires and attachments. The Truths culminate in the path to the cessation of suffering, known as the Noble Eightfold Path. This path emphasizes right understanding, right intent, right speech, right action, right livelihood, right effort, right mindfulness, and right concentration, leading to enlightenment and liberation. Buddha also taught the concept of impermanence, the idea that all things are in a constant state of change, and the concept of non-self, which challenges the notion of a permanent, unchanging self. His teachings encourage moral living, mindfulness, and the cultivation of wisdom and compassion, aiming to liberate individuals from suffering and the cycle of rebirth.

Gautama Buddha’s teachings offer profound insights into human existence. His core teachings include the Four Noble Truths and the Noble Eightfold Path, which identify suffering as an inherent part of life, arising from desires and attachments, and offer a path to alleviate it. These teachings emphasize ethical living, mental discipline, and wisdom. Significantly, they advocate for mindfulness, compassion, and the understanding of impermanence and non-self. The importance of Buddha’s teachings lies in their universal applicability and their focus on inner peace and enlightenment. They provide a practical guide for personal transformation and ethical living, fostering a deeper understanding of life’s challenges. By encouraging individuals to live mindfully and compassionately, these teachings not only contribute to personal growth and inner peace but also promote harmony and understanding in society, making them timeless and universally relevant.

Additional Readings


Concept of Nirchen Buddhism

History of Yoga

10 minute Pranayam to Increase Immunity

Kapalbhati Pranayam for Beginners

Bhramari Pranayama

Steps of Surya Namaskar

Scroll to Top